Smoke-Free Illinois Act

The Smoke-Free Illinois Act is (SFIA) a state law which protects residents, workers, and visitors from the harmful effects of exposure to secondhand tobacco smoke and e-cigarette vapor by prohibiting smoking of all forms of combustible tobacco, including cigarettes, cigars, and hookah, and e-cigarettes, vapes, and any other electronic smoking device, in public places and places of employment. In addition to indoor areas, use of these products is banned outdoors within 15 feet from any entrance, exit, window that opens, or ventilation intake of a public place or place of employment. The SFIA has been protecting Illinois residents and visitors from the dangers of secondhand smoke since its enactment on January 1, 2008; e-cigarettes were added to the act beginning January 1, 2024.
For additional information visit: 

Any person may submit a complaint about a violation of the Smoke-Free Illinois Act by calling 866-973-4646 or online at 

The following signs may be downloaded for use at a public place or place of employment to notify patrons and employees that smoking, including e-cigarette use, is not allowed indoors or within 15 feet of the entrance. 
No Smoking or E-Cigarette Use - English
No Smoking or E-Cigarette Use – Spanish

Smoking Cessation Resources:
Illinois Tobacco Quitline – The Illinois Tobacco Quitline is a free service to support Illinois residents. They have certified Quiteline counselors that are trained to help you find the best strategy.